Go Ask Alice, I Think She’ll Know

So civil.

 

When you live in a town where everything orbits around the political, you become apathetic and jaded.
 

“Nothing ever changes” you moan to yourself while stirring your pot of bitter harpy beef stew and imagining a city free of inconvenient road closures and full of ample unmetered street parking.

I had no illusions when it came to last weekends rally to restore sanity and I initially rolled my eyes thinking  it would provoke a retaliatory march of insulted insane people who would stage a counter demonstration and wonder aloud why mental health was now a reasonable target.

They would walk around in their asylum gear and those in restraints would display their protest signs with their teeth.

Alright, so you get the basic premise of why we here in the District hate our streets clogged with clueless out-of-town protestors fumbling from destination to destination crossing against the light and taking up the already less than plentiful parking spaces we rip each others larynx out with our teeth for.

This however, was and exception to the rule.

Lots of smiles and laughter. Full adherence to the laws of the road and pedestrian crossings and seemingly not one person carrying a color coded map with the “forbidden quadrants” that should you be unfortunate enough to stumble into one you would be descended upon and murdered instantly by the roving gangs of thugs we keep quietly waiting for just such an occasion.

Civility and smiles were the theme of the day and in light of Tuesday’s election results we should probably remember that no matter who’s in what office things still need to keep chugging forward to repair the damage.

So triumphant politicians on both sides; play nice, be respectful and even though you may not agree with each other remember who you work for.

For the record I totally support their right to wed.

10 Comments

Filed under apathetic americans, democrats, elections, politics are boring, republicans

10 responses to “Go Ask Alice, I Think She’ll Know

  1. I was out of the loop until after it happened, but I watched Jon Stewart’s speech and it looked great. This is, I think, what’s *right* with politics. A cliff’s notes version. I believe we live in an age of obfuscated language to confuse the masses and make understanding what you “need to know” much more difficult than it needs to be.

    Break it down and talk it out in a way that the people can understand. Don’t take a the red side or the blue side, or the dark side (Vader sound here), but take the parts from each that you want.

    BTW, I enjoy my bitter harpy beef stew with tears of the proletariat. Is that how you make it?

    • dufmanno

      I’ve never tried it like that but I’m always looking for ways to change up the recipe!
      I sound like such a Debbie Downer in this one but I promise you I actually do get mildly excited about democracy and all that fun stuff.

  2. Tom G.

    Not to be cynical and jaded or anything, I think Roger Daltry said it best when he sang “Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss.”

    This Red vs. Blue thing annoys me. I just want the guv’mint the stay the hell out of my yard.

    (keeps rocking in chair, while cleaning shotgun)

    Call me when they legalized home whiskey distillin’ Until then, STAY OFF MY LAWN!

    • dufmanno

      You can almost set your watch by it. Republicans in White House, Dems voted into Senate and House positions. Repubs voted out of white house Dems voted in. Mid term elections see Repubs voted into Senate, house etc. blah blah blah.
      I’m really starting to believe that at some point you are going to be manufacturing the finest whiskey money can buy so there’s some excitement about that!
      p.s. I need to stop inhaling Kit Kat bars

  3. Glad at least there was sanity on one day so we became aware of the possibility of coming together in a civil and orderly manner: it’s out there. There is hope, despite what happened yesterday. I did not sleep the whole night and am now at the airport working on the “ASAP” thing my boss asked for this morning.

    I love the picture of the Sock Monkeys. Your post gave some hope. Thank you.

    • dufmanno

      Sleep well my friend for things will get better.
      I want to believe that despite the shouting and crazy MOST people in this country want what is best for everyone.
      Basic human rights extended to all and legalized pot.
      Have a great trip and send me a telegram after you’ve kayaked to the other side:)xoxoxoxox

  4. Sock monkeys are people too. Right? Love it.

    • dufmanno

      Sock monkeys are woefully misunderstood and have gone without a voice for too long.
      I was glad to see them represented at the rally!

  5. i’m in a mixed marriage to a sock monkey. we’re thinking of adopting and fighting to get our child in all the best private schools. we’re also going to spend the rest of our daze rallying for prop 19 in dirty jerz. cuz that’s how we roll.

Leave a Reply

