A Special Brand of Wonderful

 

I had no idea these were fat free! I've been inhaling these for years.

Long before I existed in a permanent state of awesome, I didn’t enjoy an all access pass to the funpark of fantastic like I do now, so I had to improvise.

It involved a lot of low-budget dinners and  endless movie watching and it made a film buff out of me.

 There is nothing more exhilarating than the deafening roar of Dolby surround sound, the smell of fake butter and jujubes. But I can also spend a lazy rainy weekend day curled up on my couch re-watching Annie Hall or the Godfather; from which I can recite EVERY line.

I watch action, horror, rom-com, documentaries, dramas, period pieces, foreign films with subtitles, and cartoons.

 You name it, I’m willing to give it a whirl.

Lately I’ve had to curtail my film watching because of the extensive activities scheduled by the offspring. Not that I’m bitter about that or anything but it seems like only yesterday that my leisure time had fewer restraints and I’m feeling the film void.

Despite having had to endure the crimp in my movie habit I’ve tried to come up with a sensible solution that involves Netflix streaming, late hours and a set of headphones.

I’m slowly catching up with all the gems that slipped through the cracks because of  people continuously hanging on my arms and screaming my name but I’ve a way to go before I rise to my former glory as movie queen, tossing off quotes and arguing about plot twists, hidden meanings and surprise cameos.

Soon though, very soon.

9 Comments

Filed under eeking out a few hours of movie fun, films, lack of time, pure escapism

9 responses to “A Special Brand of Wonderful

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Special Brand of Wonderful « Dufmanno’s Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I support and salute your quest to replace our reality with one that is scripted and generally more satisfying.

    (GO MOVIES!!!)

    • dufmanno

      I know. Movie reality is far more appealing. I’ll have you know that I went so far as to sit through Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla last night to absorb some of the kitschy Japanese movie making genius.

  3. Well OBVIOUSLY you’re out of practice. It’s “Some Kind of Wonderful.” Sheesh. Don’t you know your Eric Stoltz?

    • dufmanno

      Wow, I can’t believe I missed that one, although in my defense that is the one 80’s movie I haven’t rewatched recently.
      I’m going to lose my Culture Brats carrying card now, I need to spruce up!

  4. I’m more of a Twizzlers kind of guy.

    • dufmanno

      I recently took up Junior Mints and branched out to Nachos with a coke.
      Way too messy for my tastes.
      I can’t be looking around for wayward soft cheese when big things are going down on screen.

  5. I watched a lot more artsy, independent movies and went to movie festivals while I was in Taiwan. Can we say Suburbs suck? Now when there is a PG-13 movie that does not suck and is enticing to my kids, I jump for joy. Of course they don’t make many of these any more. I also need to watch out for that ONE F word that a PG-13 movie is allowed to have so my 7 yo won’t hear it. Poor kid: he watches way too many PG-13 movies. Don’t judge me!

    And I don’t care what people say, being in the movie theatre watching a movie, that experience cannot be replicated at home.

    p.s. You mean you don’t try to sneak in candies that you bought in bulk from Costco to theatres? You are a good person.

    • dufmanno

      I’m game for anything these days. Thankfully, mine still Pixar efforts and the occasional Disney romp.
      We leave them at home to pursue adult flicks (NOT XXX) and try to make an evening out of it.
      I will say that DC still has quite a few arthouse cinemas so you get great variety.
      It’s finding the time to do those things that I need to work on. Some evenings it just seems easier to put on the sweatpants and go to sleep.
      Wow, that sounds pitiful.

Leave a Reply

