28 responses to “Person With Grandiose Expectations Suffers Huge Disappointment

  1. Um… hello? I’m totally better than those other people who are headed nowhere. Plus my mom says I’m basically awesome. People are jealous for a REASON. *cough*

    • dufmanno

      Yes but you actually have a talent. There are those of us who have nothing. Actually, I have good boobs and great hair but you can just buy those things now so it doesn’t matter anyway.
      Your mom says you’re awesome?
      Man, I wish my harpie of a mother would do that.

  2. You just watched my first vlog, didn’t you.

    Yeah…….

  3. I was rather upset when I fell into the stew of mediocrity, but when I realized there were giant carrots floating nearby I let down my guard and learned to love the bomb.

  4. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    mediocrity stew…..

    Yum!

  5. Angel

    You made three posts in one day, that is impressive. If I do that many in a week I feel quite proud of myself.

    I would like to have left a wittier comment like the others but I am afraid this is all I can manage.

    Rather pathetic really, so I shall slink back to my place in mediocrity.

    • Kelly

      No, no! Don’t get all down. There’ a bunch of us not so special people and we can kill all the REALLY spectacular one’s so we don’t appear quite so bad.
      Strength in numbers my dear.

  6. Pshaw. My mom always tells me I’m the most inappropriate person on the planet. I think she really means it. Then we drink wine and sing cowboy songs at passing strangers. We’re better at that than anyone else on the planet, too. I didn’t realize how talented we are until just now! Fuck mediocrity. Join our gang.

    • Kelly

      So wait, you have a far above average singing cowboy posse of some sort?
      What are the requirements for joining and do I get to wear jingly spurs?

  7. I know exactly what you’re saying. This is something I’m struggling with now. I’m trying to maintain my positivity about my abilities, while recognizing that I might not set the world ablaze with my Great American Novel. It’s not easy.

    But I don’t think that means you shouldn’t encourage your kids to shoot for the stars. Some succeed. And if yours don’t, then maybe they will end up a little greater than they would have had they not heard that message.

    Peace,
    Shannon

    • dufmanno

      So true.
      I’ve already turned my kids into praise junkies, just like their mom!
      In reality there are so many people out there who are hugely talented but never get the kind of breaks or luck that would have afforded them the kind of recognition they deserve.
      Then there are some people who blow the roof off the joint with no natural ability whatsoever.
      Who the hell knows.

  8. in the long forgotten words of Spandau Ballet, “Always in time, but never in line for dreams…” now snap out of it!

    • dufmanno

      Now I’m lost in another warm 80’s memory. Spandau Ballet are still together you know? Richard Blade, the Sirius XM First Wave DJ says they are touring!
      I was much greater during that decade than I am now, I’m going back.
      Where are my rubber bracelets and my florescent yellow leg warmers?

  9. I was depressed when I realized the same thing. A friend of mine told me to go cry in the lake.

  10. I really thought I commented on this. pfft. I shouldn’t be allowed on the intardwebs at the wee hours of the morning.

    You are Blog Star with fancy blog pants now. And by the way…where are all those fame dancery like people now?

    • dufmanno

      You know, I only remember Irene Cara and I think she recently popped up on a ‘where are thy now’ segment on VH1.
      I didn’t pay her much attention because I was riveted by the story of Appolonia 6 (or just Appolonia) where she went from Prince’s dirty girl to newly minted religious fanatic!

  11. Angel

    I have to tell you this, today I rose from my place in mediocrity to one of awe and wonder.

    It appears I am the only one in the office who knows the secrets of getting the temperamental photocopier to work after it has had a sulk.

    I am getting looks of total amazement from the men in the company who have spent hours trying to coax it back into life.

    I am actually in demand 🙂

    I do however insist on total solitude as I perform my secret magical ritual in the copier room. Besides it would ruin my new found mystery if they knew all I do is give the plug a good old kick.

    • dufmanno

      You are like a phoenix from the ashes!
      See, at least one of us is headed for the stratosphere.
      I will remain here in the gutter where people bring a Coleman lantern into the bathroom because they are to lazy to change the lightbulb.
      Yes, this is true.

  12. I was going to be Madonna.

    Didn’t work out.

    • dufmanno

      How can we be sure about that? I think thou dost protest too much.
      I suspect you may in fact be Vogue-ing in front of your full length mirror right now.

  13. But…but…if I accept my mediocrity, what will I worry incessantly about?

Leave a Reply

