House

Feel the tension in the air?

That’s because it’s the 4:30 to 7:00 pm witching hour here at our home. It’s crowded, messy, loud and unmanageable.

People are hungry but dinner isn’t finished yet.

People are tired but it’s nowhere near time for bed and no one here naps anymore.

People are annoyed but relief is NOT in sight.

People need more room to move around but this is a federal row house in the middle of the city with a postage stamp sized backyard and safety issues out front.

As I turn around to survey this situation here is what I find.

One child on roller blades brandishing a hockey stick and puck about to score.

Another breaking a half dilapidated easel making sure we will never be able to put it back together.

The third screaming at the other two to shut up and rolling her eyes repeatedly.

I consider myself blessed most of the time. This is not one of those times.

This wants to make me stay wrapped up in my duvet for an eternity.

If you are like me you know how overcrowding can lead to disgruntled inmates. And disgruntled inmates can lead to revolt.

Lately I’ve felt a bit resentful toward my house.

Mi Casa and I have always had an uneasy peace/truce.

My husband will tell you that I was apathetic when we were looking for real estate ten years ago. I was pregnant again, exhausted and carrying around a nine month old baby. I would have signed on for anything that catapulted us out of our apartment and into homeownership even if it didn’t have everything on my “must” list.

Actually I did get one thing. A washer & dryer.

But now?

These people are getting larger.

They are eating more and more.

They are getting LOUDER.

More than one person CAN NOT fit in that quaint galley kitchen anymore.

The seams of this house are splitting and we are going to go flying out through the rips in a wave of humanity.

5 Comments

Filed under getting squished, home ownership, I complain too much, our house

5 responses to “House

  1. Sing it, sister. I don’t even have kids and I’m in those same throws of “why don’t I fit in this house anymore?!?” (“Muthafucka!!!” sold seperately.)

    Did you really write that at 3am, Pookie? There are drugs for that you know….

    • dufmanno

      I’ve got to get into your medicine cabinet. I think I’d have fun there.
      Actually I think guilt just kicked in with my mothers voice. I can hear it say: ” You should be thankful you have a home you ungrateful shrew! Imagine if you lost everything and had to live in a cardboard box under the route 50 highway overpass like that guy who waves the tree branch and says hello to every passing car! He doesn’t even have any teeth but yet HE digs deep and finds the joy in life!”

  2. dufmanno

    My kids love him. They’re all like “there’s tree branch guy! WAVE! WAVE!!!”
    Once he must have lost his tree branch cause he was using what appeared to be an old tissue, but it just wasn’t the same. Thank god he got back on the program and found his twig.

  3. Hey! This sounds just like when Barbapapa, Barbamama and the Barbababies outgrew their house!

    If you’re a family of shapeshifters, you could build a new kickass house out of Barbaplastic just like they did. I highly recommend it.

    Peace,
    Shannon

Leave a Reply

