Serenity Now! How a Week at the Sanctuary Rocked My World

Having a moment of real clarity can happen at anytime for just about anyone, mine came while watching waves, burying my toes in the sand and fending off seagulls.  I’ve always known that I love the beach, but with each passing year I begin to dread the ride home more and more. I used to console myself with the visions of flat beautifully textured hair that would be mine as soon as I escaped the beach air, but tightly woven pigtails and a baseball hat have solved all but my worst high humidity hair days.

I watched my kids frolic in the pounding surf and spent hours in the luxurious pool area swimming and eating my husbands well grilled burgers and veggies while wondering why this couldn’t be my new every day existence. Wake, eat, swim, beach, swim, eat, walk, breathe, relax, sleep. Yes, I am well aware that there isn’t even a morsel of reality in this imagined  lifestyle (unless we go back to the barter system where I can trade my rare 70’s Marvel comics for two weeks in a high end condo) but there is nothing stopping a girl from dreaming the impossible dream either.

So it is with true sadness that I bid farewell to my rented home packed with amenities, top of the line appliances, spacious

sun, sand, surf

sun, sand, surf

bedrooms with walk in closets, a master suite and a spectacular view of the ocean.  Toodle loo, sea breezes and kids that look like they stepped off a dune in the end of summer J. Crew catalog.  Serenity, I will miss you most of all. You are a rare bird during the year and when I’ve finally relaxed enough to bring my shoulders down from around my ears to where they belong and look for you, it’s during those few weeks I get to sit in the sun and breathe deeply. So long beach, I’ll see you next year.

2 Comments

Filed under beach vacation, sandbridge, virginia beach

2 responses to “Serenity Now! How a Week at the Sanctuary Rocked My World

  1. Sarah

    Hi,
    My name is Sarah and I’m with Dwellable. I was looking for blog posts about Virginia Beach to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, drop me a line at Sarah(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you 🙂
    Sarah

    • Sure thing. I’ll drop you an email. In a strange twist of fate we have returned to the Sanctuary every single year since then and we are leaving for there in two days with our entire extended family

Leave a Reply

